The Happy Golfer


Surprise visitor revealed; nearing halfway point and right on schedule
April 28, 2009, 7:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hello from The Happy Golfer. I’m real fine. I’m in Maryland for two rounds; I finished one and I’m playing another here today. Then I’m off to Delaware for two rounds, then New Jersey for two rounds, then Connecticut. I’m nearly halfway through my journey; when I finish New Jersey, I’ll have 24 states completed. That means I’ll be halfway done – half of the 96 rounds will be behind me and half of them will be in front of me – I’ll have 48 more rounds to do. So I’m right on schedule. Seven times I’ve played 36 holes in a day.

One of the people who has read the blog, he’s a friend of Fred Swegles, the reporter from the Orange County Register and the Sun Post News.  Fred was my surprise guest this week! He spent two days with me. Anyway, a friend of Fred is a manager of a Hilton Hotel, and he said he would like to give me a break from the Winnebago View and have me to stay at the Hilton Hotel for free when I was in Maryland. So I finished my first round Monday morning in Maryland, at Beaver Creek Country Club, and then I go to Elkton, Maryland on Tuesday for my second round. I’m at the Hilton Hotel right now and you wouldn’t believe it; they have a workout room! So I get to work out and kind of do some weights and run on a treadmill and stuff like that. I imagine people will get a kick out of that.

I talk daily to my wife, Fran, and she gets the update of where I am at, and checks that I’m eating the proper food and getting a good night’s sleep.  And at the Hilton, I get to work out and jog up and down on a treadmill. Isn’t that great? This is The Happy Golfer signing off for now – keep happy.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Saw you on the Chicago News, good luck. I love what you are doing (although I get bored golfing anything over 18 holes).

Randy

Comment by Randy

Nick, just saw your story on the 10 o’clock news, you’re AWESOME, man. You are “livin’ the dream”. I just came from the golf course and I know the JOY you feel and portray. Someone once said,”a happy golfer is one who is getting better”, that is you my friend. Good luck & be safe. Enjoy the journey, were pulling for you.

Brad B
Nemadji Golf Course Superior, WI.(home course)

Comment by Brad B.

Nick,

I just saw you on the Tampa, FL news channel. You ARE a happy golfer. I am glad that you are having such a great time on your trip across the country. I think your wife should have accompanied you.

I would like to invite you to our charity golf tournament to help raise funds for HOPE Wildlife Rehabilitation. We are a non-profit organization that takes in injured, orphaned and displaced native wild animals, fixes them up, then release them back to the wild. Our tournament is at the Pine Ridge Community Golf & Country Club located in Beverly Hills, FL, on June 6th. I will understand if you can not make it but if you can’t attend, could you help us out by getting some signed memorabilia from some of the pro-golfers out there or a donation of something nice from Callaway for our raffle? Any little bit of help would be most appreciated. I hope you can make it but the important thing is for you to have FUN FUN FUN playing golf and meeting new people.

Take care.

Helen V.
HOPE Wildlife Rehabilitation, Inc.

Comment by Helen Van de Walker




Leave a Reply

