The Happy Golfer


An update from Nick
May 13, 2009, 10:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday I played Orchard Creek in New York as a single; I played 36 holes in one day in two different states! As of today, I have played in 31 states, 64 rounds in 53 days on the road. Eleven times I played 36 holes in a day. Pretty good for a 73-year-old.

Last night, I headed to Afton Golf Course in N.Y., where Guy, the pro, comped me dinner, beer, camping and golf this morning. Such great hospitality there! I didn’t arrive until 8 p.m., but they waited for me. Thanks, also, to Shelby. What a gorgeous course, cut right out of a mountain.

This morning I played in a tournament there – I had to – couldn’t tee off until after 9 a.m.because the greens were frozen. They can only play six months out of the year because of weather conditions. Boy, are we spoiled in California. My partners were: Henry, 78, an Armenian fellow whose sister is married to a Greek; Dominic, an Italian, also 78; and Fred, a Czech, who is 92. I was the baby of the bunch! I managed to shoot an 80, with one birdie. My putting should have been better to shoot a 75. Afterwards, there was a great BBQ, with lots of golf talk. All in all, a wonderful day with wonderful people. I remain the Happy Golfer.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Its great to hear that you are still doing well. Eleven times you’ve done 36 in one day? That’s awesome. The scores you’re posting are staying fairly consistent. Way to go and keep it up. Yes, we are spoiled in SoCal with our great golf weather.

Comment by Michael

Its great to hear about the hospitality of all the golf pros you meet. As a golf professional myself, I feel its so important to always do the right thing and give back to those who inspire so many.

Comment by Michael

Hi Nick – haven’t seen you in years. Let me know when you get halfway back and I will fly in to play a couple of rounds with you.

It sounds like a great trip.

John Itzel

Comment by John Itzel

Thinking of you! Hope you had a wonderful birthday!! Xpistos Anesti!!! Erini

Comment by Erini Papandreas Redmond

Hi Erini & Bill & Boys, I am with relatives in the windy city, and thank you for your kind thoughts. Three days ago while in Akron with relatives again, one of the wives said that “I look so slender, and your teeth are so clean & white.” Thnx to you and your staff.. HUGS THG xxx

Comment by Cousin Leo

May 21, 2009 my son, Ryan, and I played 18 holes with Nick at Beechwood Golf Course in LaPorte, IN. Nick is charged up about his conquest! We enjoyed hearing of his stories about his the many cities and courses.
Nick: It was our pleasure to play with you today. Best wishes on your extreme endeavor!
The Thiery’s

Comment by Tom Thiery

Thank you Tom and son Ryan for the kind thoughts. It was great playing with both of you at Beechwood. I am staying with relatives in the Windy City and there are a lot of Hoosier caps arround this place. Good golfing to you both down the road. Nick K. aka The Happy Golfer

Comment by Cousin Leo

Nick
Happy Birthday! I have to say you remind me of my Dad Nick who’s 78 (also Greek). He loves golf and in the summer has been know to play twice a day. He refuses to take a golf cart. In the Chicago summers he takes a train into the city and walks 17 miles along the lake front. It takes him the whole morning. My Mom thinks he’s nuts for walking all those mile, but I think it’s great and it keeps him young. My Dad once said that he would love to hit every ML baseball park from the east coast to the west before he sees his maker. I hope he keeps to that dream.
Keep thinking young,
Stacey Mechales

Comment by Stacey Mechales




Leave a Reply

