The Happy Golfer


And the mystery guest is …
June 15, 2009, 2:50 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I played 18 holes at Laurel Golf Club in Billings, Montana on Friday – a great course. Thursday, I played an equally scenic course, Briarwood. In six days I’ played six rounds in all in the Billings area and was written up in the Billings Gazette. Someone should inform me that my program only calls for two rounds per state! I was recently told that the late Ely Callaway liked to under-promise and over-deliver, so people always got more than they expected, and it made them happy. The Happy Golfer likes that philosophy.

 Here’s a link to a nice story from the Billings Gazette; don’t miss the fun photo gallery: http://www.billingsgazette.net/articles/2009/06/12/sports/local/21-happygolf.txt

 I was eagerly waiting at the airport Saturday for my “mystery guest.” Like the line from Casablanca goes: “This could be the start of a beautiful friendship.” My visitor arrived at 1:42 p.m., and the Do Not Disturb sign went up on the Winnebago View at 1:47. Yes, the guest was my lovely wife, Fran. The Happy Golfer has a smile on his face.

 Stay tuned; there are more ultrasurprises coming this week …

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can sleep a bit better knowing that Fran is there with you to make sure you are eating healthy food, driving safe, and not talking to strangers. Well, she can help with 2 of the 3, right? You sound good and still having fun. We miss you lots here is SoCal. Have a great next couple of weeks and then we will plan lunch when you return.

Be safe!
Stephanie Smith

Comment by Stephanie Smith

I’ll take you up on the lunch offer! I miss ITO, as well as drives, putts,and sand traps. Being a naturalist really helps me on this trip. Right now I’m in Idaho and telling the foursome behind me,”Don’t feed the wild animals!”

Comment by fran karnazes




Leave a Reply

